Chinatown Historic Area Planning Committee

The committee works to preserve and protect the heritage and character of the historic Chinatown area. 

Terms of reference

The committee works to preserve and protect the heritage and character of the Chinatown area (zones HA-1 and HA-1A) by:

  • Advising the Director of Planning on matters relating to Chinatown
  • Working with all City departments to develop and implement policies and programs that affect Chinatown

Meeting frequency

Meetings are generally held on the second Thursday of each month, except August, at 5:30pm. Meetings take place in the Board Room of the Chinese Cultural Centre at 50 East Pender St, Vancouver.

Time commitment

Monthly meetings last about 3 hours each. Members may also serve on subcommittees which are formed from time to time. Preparation for all meetings is required.

Attendance requirement

Member may miss no more than four consecutive meetings without obtaining leave of absence from the committee. Membership will be terminated following the fourth such absence.


The committee consists of 13 members from the following groups:

  • Architectural Institute of British Columbia (two members)
  • Chinatown Merchants Association (two members)
  • Chinatown property owners (two members)
  • Chinese Cultural Centre (one member)
  • Chinese Benevolent Association (one member)
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Garden Society (one member)
  • Heritage Vancouver (one member)
  • Planning Institute of British Columbia (one member)
  • SUCCESS (one member)
  • Member-at-large (one member)

Members are appointed by City Council for one-year and two-year terms. A newly-elected Council may reappoint members in a one-year term for one additional year. No member may serve more than four years.

Terms expiring Feb 28, 2018:

  • Vacant (Architectural Institute of British Columbia)
  • John Atkin (Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Garden Society)
  • Marianne Amodio (Architectural Institute of British Columbia)
  • Pui Lam Ho (Chinatown Merchants Association)
  • Vacant (Chinese Cultural Centre)
  • Joseph Lau (SUCCESS)
  • Helen Lee (Planning Institute of British Columbia)
  • Edmund Ma (Chinatown Property Owner)
  • Inge Roecker (Heritage Vancouver)
  • Mark Shieh (Chinatown Property Owner)
  • Raymond Tam (Chinese Benevolent Association)
  • May So (Member-at-Large)
  • Vacant (Chinatown Merchants Association)


  • City Council: Councillor Kerry Jang 
  • Park Board: Commissioner Erin Shum
  • Vancouver School Board, Liaison, Allan Wong

Meetings, agendas, and minutes








Chinatown's revitalization plan


All about Vancouver's Downtown neighbourhood: City news, events, and roadwork; public consultation opportunities; local services and amenities.

Resources for advisory committee members

Contact the Chinatown Historic Area Planning Committee

Staff contacts
Zlatan Jankovic

Phone: 604-871-6448